b. 1917 – Dallas, Texas
Governor: 1987–1991

Clements opposed Mark White in his bid for re-election and won the governorship for a second time in 1986. Clements, Elisha Pease, and Miriam Ferguson are the only governors to serve non-consecutive terms. In his second term, Clements sought steep cuts in the state budget because of an oil bust. He actually approved a tax increase, the largest in state history. Clements did not seek re-election and returned to Dallas.